Blogging the Nebula Awards

Over the weekend, the Philip K. Dick winner was announced, but before that winner was even announced, we’ve already had our sights set on the Nebulas! In fact, some of our reviewers have already gotten started, so I thought this was the perfect time to go ahead and provide our index for you to follow along.

However, we will not be reading every nominee, so the full nomination list may be found here.


All the Birds in the Sky, Charlie Jane Anders (Tor)
Borderline, Mishell Baker (Saga)
The Obelisk Gate, N.K. Jemisin (Orbit)
Ninefox Gambit, Yoon Ha Lee (Solaris)
Everfair, Nisi Shawl (Tor)


Runtime, S.B. Divya (
The Dream-Quest of Vellitt Boe, Kij Johnson (
The Ballad of Black Tom, Victor LaValle (
Every Heart a Doorway, Seanan McGuire (
The Liar, John P. Murphy (F & SF) *
A Taste of Honey, Kai Ashante Wilson (

Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation

Doctor Strange
Kubo and the Two Strings
Rogue One: A Star Wars Story
Westworld: ‘‘The Bicameral Mind’’ *

The goal is to review each of these titles before the winners are announced on May 20th, 2017. As each review goes live, we’ll update this page. Feel free to keep checking back, or subscribe to the site so you don’t miss a single thing!

To learn more about the Nebula Awards, please click here.

* = We are unable to review in time for the Nebula Awards

5/21/2017 Update: The winners have been announced, and you can see the full list here! Congratulations to all the winners, and from our list, to Charlie Jane Anders for All the Birds in the Sky and Seanan McGuire for Every Heart a Doorway, and of course, Arrival.

No Comments

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: